Dear Green Beans,

I’m sorry. I’m not normally a shallow person. Like homely girls everywhere, I care more about personality than looks. And there’s no denying that I love your insides, Green Beans. When you snap softly under my teeth, I can’t help but smile… mostly because I’ve doubtlessly cooked you in butter or bacon and animal fats are mad sexy. But, I have to get real with you for a minute: your outside parts bother me.

I pick through bins of you somewhat obsessively, moving over to let those bold enough to just fill their hands and bags with you, not bothering, as I do, to cast off your wispy strands and thicker beans whose bulging insides allow me to think of nothing but that traumatic scene from Alien.

Once I get you home, I snap a chunk off of you at both ends and scrape my pairing knife down the sides of those of you I neglected to weed out, removing slivers of skin covered in dry scars and stretch marks. I’ve gladly eaten some hideous dishes, but you have so much (forgive me) potential that I become superficial around you.

Someday I will reach blindly into your piles instead of standing aside and watching with envy as others take you, bulbous and slight, wrinkled and taught, into their baskets and stomachs.

You’ve done nothing but nourish me, so I will try to be less judgmental when I stumble upon the ugos among you.

Seriously. My bad,

Rosie

P.S.- You, like Mr. Pibb and Red Vines= crazy delicious, so don’t let this get you down.

Spicy Green Beans

Serves 2 as a side (unless you’re serving me. Then it serves 1… me).

Rinse, trim and halve 2 big handfuls of green beans.

Peel and mince 1/2 inch ginger and 2 small cloves garlic (about 1/2 tsp each)

Over medium high heat, melt 1/2 tbsp butter.

Add green beans and cook for about 1 minute.

Add ginger and garlic, cook, stirring regularly for another minute.

Add 1-2 tsps tamari and 2 tbsps water.

Stir and cook on high for 1-2 minutes until most of the liquid has evaporated and the beans are tender but still a bit crunchy (if you like less crunch, cover the pan with a lid after adding the water. This will also leave you with a bit of liquid but that makes a totally tasty sauce, especially if you stir in an extra pat of butter at the end).

Kill heat and add 1/2 tsp garlic chili paste (like sriracha) and 1 tsp lime juice. Taste, adjust and serve hot over rice, under a fried egg, or straight up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Green

Leave a Reply

